Compared to other states, Ohio has the twenty-fourth-lowest property crime rate in the country. This puts the property crime rate in Ohio at just about the national average.
When it comes to theft, the penalties can range significantly depending on what property or services were stolen in addition to a few other factors.
If you or someone you love has been convicted of felony theft in Columbus, Ohio, you might be wondering what the consequences could be.
Let’s take a look at the different classifications of theft in Ohio and the penalties that accompany them.
Defining Theft in Ohio
Ohio criminal statutes prohibit any individual from exerting control over the property or services of someone else or knowingly obtaining their property or services:
- By threat, deception, or intimidation
- Without the owner’s consent or another individual who is authorized to give consent
- Beyond the scope of the implied consent or expressed consent of the owner or authorized party
Acts such as shoplifting, embezzlement, larceny, and extortion all fall under the category of theft.
Classification of Theft Offenses and Penalties
There are a number of different rubrics by which a theft offense is classified. These include the value of the property, whether the victim is a part of a protected class, and the character of the property.
Petty Theft: First Degree Misdemeanor
If the property or services that are stolen are valued at less than $1,000, then it is considered petty theft. This is a first-degree misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Felony Theft: Fifth Degree Felony Theft Columbus Ohio
One of the following conditions needs to be present for a theft to be considered a fifth-degree felony:
- The value of the property or services that were stolen is less than $7,500 but more than $1,000
- The victim is a part of a protected class and the value of the stolen items is less than $1,000
- The property is a negotiable instrument such as a credit card
For fifth-degree felony theft in Columbus, Ohio, the fine can be up to $2,500 and the prison sentence ranges from six to twelve months.
Grand Theft: Fourth Degree Felony Theft Columbus Ohio
One of the following conditions needs to exist for a theft to be classified as a fourth-degree felony:
- The value of the services or property is between $7,500 and $150,000
- The value is between $1,000 and $7,500 and the victim is in a protected class
- The property is a dangerous drug or motor vehicle
This charge can result in a maximum fine of $5,000 and somewhere between six and eighteen months in jail.
There are three different categories for aggravated theft in Ohio. These range between third-degree felonies and first-degree felonies.
Third Degree Felony Theft Columbus Ohio
One of the following conditions must exist to be charged with a third-degree felony:
- The value of the services or property is between $150,000 and $750,000
- The value is between $7,500 and $37,500 and the victim is a part of a protected class
- The stolen property is a police dog or horse, an assistance dog, a firearm, or anhydrous ammonia
An offender can receive a sentence of between nine months and three years for this charge. The maximum fine is $10,000.
Second Degree Felony Theft Columbus Ohio
For an aggravated theft to qualify as a second-degree felony, one of the following circumstances must be true:
- The value of the services or property is between $750,000 and $1.5 million
- The value of the stolen property is between $37,500 and $150,000 and the victim is in a protected class
The prison term for a second-degree felony ranges between two years and eight years. The maximum fine for this charge is $15,000.
First Degree Felony Theft Columbus Ohio
One of the following conditions must exist to be charged with aggravated theft in the first-degree:
- The value of the services or property is $1.5 million or more
- The value of the services or property is $150,000 and the victim is in a protected class
The consequences for a first-degree felony are a prison term between three and eleven years and a maximum fine of $20,000.
Felony Theft in Ohio: An Experienced Lawyer Can Help Your Case
Many people don’t realize how serious the penalties can be for theft in Ohio. Even a misdemeanor charge can result in spending time in jail, paying significant fines, and having the conviction listed on your criminal record.
Felony theft in Ohio is something that the state takes very seriously. For this reason, if you’re facing felony theft charges, you’ll want to seek legal representation right away.
When you work with Tyack Law, we will start to build your defense right away. We will use every resource at our disposal to build an adequate defense to aggressively defend your rights.
Have you been charged with felony theft in Ohio? If so, contact Tyack Law today.
Talk with an experienced Lawyer today
Fill out the form to get started with your case evaluation.